Council History‎ > ‎

Silver Antelope

Cape Fear Council Silver Antelope Recipients

The Silver Antelope Award was created in 1942 and first awarded in 1943. The award is granted for
outstanding service to youth within the territory of a BSA Region. The recipient must be a registered
The following scouters received the Silver Antelope while registered in the Cape Fear Council:

  • Dr. William T. Rainey 1943 Fayetteville, NC – in first group presented
  • Josiah A. Maultsby 1951 Whiteville, NC
  • Lawrence R. Bowers 1975 Whiteville, NC – served as Area 7 & Southeast Region President
  • Joseph E. Sandlin 1979 Lumberton, NC – served as Southeast Region Area 7 President
  • Robert O. Walton, Jr. 1990 Castle Hayne, NC – served as Southern Region Area 7 President
Rainey & Maultsby awards presented by Region 6
Bowers, Sandlin & Walton awards presented by Southeast Region

All recipients served as President of the Cape Fear Council at some time.
Region 6 presented from 1943 until the formation of the Southeast Region in 1972. The Southeast
Region presented until 1992. The Southern Region was formed in 1992 and began to present in 1993.
Former Cape Fear Council Western District Executive, John Young received the Silver Antelope from the
Southern Region in 2009 while a volunteer in the Old North State Council and President of Area 7.
Former Council President F. Murray Acker received the Silver Antelope in 1965 while living in Old
Hickory, TN. He later moved to Wilmington and served as council president in 1968.

I have notes that indicate that former council president Dr. John H. Hamilton received the Silver Antelope
but, as of this date, I cannot prove it. It was not presented by Region 6 or the Southeast Region.
John Fort,
Dec 12, 2015, 10:38 AM